Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Breakfast (8:30 am): 1 can of tuna, 1 small yam, celery with 1 tbsp. of almond butter and 1 small cup of coffee

Lunch (12 pm): tuna with lots of steamed kale; 2 small oranges and 1 plum; 1 small cup of coffee

Afternoon snack (3:30 pm): handful of raw almonds

Dinner (5:30 pm): veggie fritatta and 1 cup of banana “ice cream” (frozen bananas blended with coconut milk)

Evening snack (9 pm): handful of pumpkin seeds, 1 apple, 1 pear, 3 small peaches and a handful of tiny nectarines

Hydration: water, decaf

Supplements am: calcium d-glucarate, DIM, oil of oregano, turmeric, Maxi-Hair, maca, ashwaghanda, and DHA

Supplements pm: Maxi-Hair, vitamin D, maca, melatonin, ashwaghanda, and (generic, plain, unsweetened) Natural Calm

Activity: 22 mile commute; am elements class at NorCal

Pre-workout meal am: 2 cups of coffee (1/2 caf.), BCAA, 10 filberts, handful of dates

Reflections: taking a day of rest paid off! I woke up with zero soreness and I was actually excited to get out the door and ride the 6 miles to NorCal. I felt strong throughout the workout, and, for a change, my quads felt fresh enough to increase my back-squat weight. Feeling so good made me think, for a second, “well, maybe I can skip the recovery weekend and do a long run…” But I nipped the thought in the bug right away: no epic workouts this weekend!

Sleep: great! 8 hours

OVERALL: recovery DOES work!

