Tags

, , , , , ,

Breakfast (8:30 am):  1 can of tuna, 1 small yam, celery, 1 tiny peach and 1 small orange

Lunch (12 pm): tuna with 1/4 avocado, steamed spinach and celery; a handful of nuts

Afternoon snack (2:30 pm): handful of almonds and filberts

Dinner (5:30 pm): veggie fritatta with lots of kale and 1/3 avocado; 1 cup of frozen bananas, 2 dates, handful of filberts and a scoop of coconut flakes

Hydration: water, decaf

Supplements am: calcium d-glucarate, DIM, oil of oregano, turmeric, Maxi-Hair, maca, ashwaghanda, and DHA

Supplements pm: Maxi-Hair, vitamin D, maca, melatonin, ashwaghanda, and (generic, plain, unsweetened) Natural Calm

Activity: 12 mile commute; am elements class at NorCal

Pre-workout meal am: 2 cups of coffee (1/2 caf.), BCAA, 10 filberts, 1 spoonful of coconut flakes, 3 dates

Reflections: yesterday I had to keep my eyelids open with toothpicks all day, so I vowed to go home, cook dinner and get in bed right away. After some magnesium and melatonin, I was ready for bed by 7 pm. I slept almost all the way through the night, until Mr. Funkalicious woke me up with his usual midnight yowls (it is very hard to live with an aging 16 year-old cat). Upon waking up, I noticed that my legs were looser and that most of the soreness had subsided. The morning commute was bit hard (no soreness, but the legs were tired) and I wisely took it easy at Norcal. I scaled down my deadlift weight and opted for rowing instead of running. On the nutrition front, things are business as usual. There is a lot of tuna on the menu this week, for our budget did not have room for salmon. Also, I am skipping my usual 1 tbsp. of almond butter/day, since I polished off the rest of the jar last weekend. I do miss my nut butter, but my wallet is happy. While buying good food is a worthwhile investment, the Whole30 has been tough on the wallet. Farm-fresh eggs and fish are a lot more expensive than oats and quinoa…

Sleep: great! 8.5-9.5 hours

OVERALL: tired and ready for the weekend – only 2 more workouts to go!

