Tags

, , ,

Breakfast (8:30 am):  1 can of tuna, 1 small yam, celery with 1 tbsp. of almond butter and 1 tbsp. of coconut flakes; 1 small cup of coffee

Lunch (12 pm): salmon with steamed spinach, baby carrots and 1/4 avocado

Afternoon snack (2 pm): 15 almonds

Dinner (5:30 pm): spinach and romaine salad with eggs, carrots, cabbage, onions, peppers, sunflower seeds, olives and avocado; 1 cup of freshly picked blackberries (so sweets!)

Hydration: water, sleepy time tea

Supplements am: calcium d-glucarate, DIM, oil of oregano, turmeric, Maxi-Hair, maca, ashwaghanda, and DHA

Supplements pm: Maxi-Hair, vitamin D, maca, ashwaghanda, and (generic, plain, unsweetened) Natural Calm

Activity: 12 mile commute; am elements class at NorCal

Pre-workout meal am: 2 cups of coffee (1/2 caf.), BCAA, 10 filberts, 1 spoonful of coconut flakes, 2 dates

Reflections: taking it easy for the last 2 days has paid off. I felt strong during my am class and during my commute. I am no longer worried about Sunday’s workout; we will survive it just fine (with the help of some unsweetened coconut water and yams, of course!). Also, I feel as if I am still losing weight inches steadily. I don’t own a scale, but the clothes are fitting better and I am getting more muscle definition – and that is all that matters. Some people who do a Whole30 report improved skin appearance. Sadly, I have not been blessed with magically clear skin after 2 weeks into the program. Users in the Whole30 forum suggest cutting out nuts, but that would make my life miserable. I like nuts and I rely on them for energy every day. I think part of the problem is that I am always sweating, as I bike-commute, run, teach spinning, etc… All of that sweat, combined with my oily skin and the daily coat of sunscreen probably causes my clogged pores. In the end, I don’t care. If being active means that I have to have pimples and blackheads, so be it. I would not trade my lifestyle even for the most perfect and flawless porcelain skin.

Sleep: great! Although I had an awful nightmare, I got 8.5 hours of good sleep and woke up before the alarm went off.

OVERALL: I am regaining my energy after a hard weekend of training.

