Tags

, , , ,

Breakfast (7 am): 3 scrambled eggs with 1 large zucchini and 1 small yam, cooked in coconut oil; 3 cups of coffee (1/2 caf.)

Lunch (noon): tuna, steamed kale, 2 celery stalks, 4 radishes, baby carrots, handful of almonds

Snack (3:30 pm): handful of almonds

Dinner (7:00 pm): spinach and romaine salad with salmon, avocado, carrots, peppers, onions, olives and sunflower seeds

Hydration: water, sleepy time tea

Supplements am: calcium d-glucarate, DIM, oil of oregano, Maxi-Hair, turmeric, maca, ashwaghanda, and DHA

Supplements pm: Maxi-Hair, vitamin D, melatonin, maca, ashwaghanda, turmeric, and Natural Calm

Activity: am 30 min. yoga DVD, 5 mile commute; pm Spinning class

Pre-workout meal am: 2 cups of coffee (1/2 caf.), BCAA

Pre-workout meal pm: 2 dates

Reflections: today was a hard day; my legs were dead from the long run and the temperature here reached 105F, I believe. I had good energy when I woke up, but felt a bit tight around the hamstrings during yoga. I felt good until I had to ride my bike home at 4 pm…By the time I walked into my house I had a pounding headache, which was probably due to the extreme heat. I thought that maybe my blood sugar was low, so I had two dates, but it was not it. I decided to take a cold shower, and I instantly felt better. Spinning class was a rude awakening to how beat up my legs were from yesterday’s workout. I made up my mind then that I would cruise my way through my Spinning classes this week and take it as a “recovery week.”

Sleep: great! Slept a good 8 hours and woke up refreshed.

OVERALL: had it not been for the soreness and the heat, it would have been a fine day. Though I am feeling, overall, really good, there is no amount of nutritious food that will neutralize the damage done due to hard training. I have been teaching a lot of two-a-day classes in the last month. In short, I am due for a more serious recovery week soon. I donate blood on the 28th of July, so I will take the whole weekend to recover.

