Tags

, , , , ,

Brunch (10:30 am): 4 scrambled eggs with mixed vegetables, kale and smoked salmon (topped with home-made basil and tomato salsa); 1/2 banana with 1 tbsp. almond butter; 1 apple, handful of almond, 3 dates, coconut flakes, sesame seed and cinnamon soaked in coconut milk

Dinner (6 pm): massive spinach and romaine salad with chili BBQed shrimp, avocados cabbage, mango, bell pepper, olives, sunflower seeds, and carrots; 1.5 apples, 2 dates, 8 filberts and a spoonful of coconut for dessert

Hydration: water, iced-tea

Supplements am: calcium d-glucarate, DIM, oil of oregano, Maxi-Hair, turmeric, maca, ashwaghanda, and DHA

Supplements pm: Maxi-Hair, vitamin D, melatonin, maca, ashwaghanda, and generic (unsweetened) Natural Calm

Activity: 100 min. run

Pre-workout meal: 2 cups of coffee (1/2 caf.), a shot of espresso; 1 banana, 10 filberts, 3 dates and a spoonful of coconut flakes with coconut milk and a dash of cinnamon

Reflections: today we planned to do a 90 min. run, but our friend R, who is training for a 50-miler, unintentionally pushed us into a 100 min. run (20 minutes longer than the last run). The last 20 min. were hard, but I had enough energy in the tank to finish. I decided to up the carb and fat content of my breakfast. Although the Whole30 recommendations are to have mostly protein as PWO meal, I will burp any high-protein meal for 24 hours if I work out within 2 hours of eating it. Besides, these recommendations do not take into considerations the needs of endurance athletes. The extra fat kept me comfortable during the long run; I hate having a growling stomach when I run. Still, it was the idea of a post-workout meal that carried me through the last few miles.

Sleep: meh…I went to be tired and woke up at 3:30 am…tossed and turned until 5 am – my wake-up time

OVERALL: 2 weeks in and feeling good!

