Tags

, , , ,

Breakfast (7 am): 3 scrambled eggs with mixed vegetables, cooked in coconut oil; 1 banana with 1 tbsp. almond butter with sprinkled coconut flakes. 1 cup of coffee (1/2 caf.)

Lunch (noon): sardines, sweet potatoes, celery and dijon mustard over a bed of steamed kale, 1/4 avocado, baby carrots

Afternoon snack (2 pm): 20 almonds

Dinner (5:30 pm): spinach and romaine salad with peppers, carrots, avocado, olives, sunflower seeds, onions, and salmon – dressed with coconut aminos, rice vinegar, hot sauce and nutritional yeast; 2 peaches, 1 date, 1 fig, 1 spoonful of coconut flakes and 6 filberts (for dessert)

Hydration: water, sleepy time tea, electro-mix

Supplements am: calcium d-glucarate, DIM, oil of oregano, Maxi-Hair, vitamin C, maca, ashwaghanda, and DHA

Supplements pm: Maxi-Hair, vitamin D, melatonin, maca, ashwaghanda, and Natural Calm

Activity: 5 mile commute; am Spinning class

Pre-workout meal am: 1 cup of coffee (1/2 caf.), BCAA

Reflections: after a relaxing 7/4, I was ready to teach my Spinning class this morning. With the 4th of July falling on a Wednesday, it seems as if everyone around me has turned the holiday into a “holiweek” – taking the whole week off and leaving me all alone to teach my class to an empty room. I was wearing my cycling shoes, so there was little else I could do but ride. So I rode. After warming up for 30 minutes, I was able to really push for the last 30 minutes of the workout. Teaching class often prevents me from really focusing on my own performance, so it was nice to get in the zone and ride hard with no rest periods. After looking down to my HRM and seeing that I was cruising at 170 bpm, I realized that it was probably time to do a LT test and update my numbers. All of this fitness talk has nothing to do with the Whole30 experiment, but it was the highlight of the day – and this way of eating has become so effortless and satisfying, that I don’t even think about it that much anymore.

Sleep: went to bed early and slept close to 9 hours. I put the sleep mask and the ear plugs, and it helped me stay asleep longer with fewer interruptions. I was soundly asleep when the alarm went off at 4:20 am; S had to shake me get up and turn the alarm off.

OVERALL: I felt hungry and “snacky” today, but that may be due to the very hard Spinning session in the morning. I was disappointed to find out that my beloved Electro-mix, which does not taste sweet at all, has a small amount of maltodextrin and stevia. This is a shame, for most electrolyte replacement drinks have nasty extras like aspartame or a bunch of sugar, or they are very expensive. So, I am putting my Electro-mix consumption on hold and sticking to water for the rest of the experiment.

