Tags

Breakfast (8:30 am): tuna, 2 celery stalks, 1 small yam, 1 tbsp. almond butter and coconut flakes, 1 small cup of coffee

Lunch (noon): baby carrots, pile of steamed chard (from the garden), can of salmon with Tapatio sauce, 1/3 avocado, 1 apple

Afternoon snack (2 pm): 10 almonds

Dinner (7 pm): veggie fritatta with 4 eggs, topped with home-made pesto; 1 apple

Hydration: water, electro-mix

Supplements am: calcium d-glucarate, DIM, oil of oregano, Maxi-Hair, vitamin C, maca, ashwaghanda, and DHA

Supplements pm: Maxi-Hair, vitamin D, melatonin, probiotics, maca, ashwaghanda, cranberry extract, and Natural Calm

Activity: 16 mile commute; am Elements at NorCal; pm Spinning class

Pre-workout meal am: 2 cups of coffee (1/2 caf.), handful of filberts, 1 spoonful of coconut, 2 figs

Pre-workout meal pm: 4 figs, 12 filberts, spoonful of sesame seeds, spoonful of coconut seeds

Reflections: today I felt a bit more tired that usual – especially in the morning. I generally take Monday morning as a recovery 1/2 day, since I have my long runs on Sunday. With 4th of July coming in the middle of the week, I decided to get my Norcal workout out of the way today and chill on Wednesday (or maybe go for a short run). Although I am close to 1/3 of the way into this experiment, and refuse to step on a scale, I can already tell I have dropped a significant amount of weight. I hate scales, so I go by how my clothes fit – more loosely now! – and I cannot believe how much progress I have made in 8 days. Ever since digging myself into the overtraining hole, I have futilely battled my way to my racing weight. Finally, after losing a couple of lbs. and gaining a couple more on vacation, I finally feel that I am on the right track toward my sweet spot weight-wise.

Sleep: good- went to bed early (7 pm) and woke up refreshed at 4 am

OVERALL: Although I feel like I have more overall energy, this day kicked my ass! Double-workout days leave me starved and tired…maybe I need to up my fueling in days like these.

