Tags

, , ,

Breakfast (7 am): banana “pancakes” (1 banana, 3 eggs, 1 scoop of coconut flakes) with 1 tbsp. almond butter, 3 dry figs, handful of filberts, 1 apple and 2 cups of Bidwell Perk’s coffee (only one was regular)

Lunch (noon): romaine lettuce salad with sardines, yams, basil, dijon mustard and sunflower seeds; 1 apple with almond butter

Dinner (8 pm): mammoth pile of raw salmon and tuna, sushi rolls with salmon & tuna, cauliflower, carrots, pineapple, avocado, mushrooms, sesame seeds, peppers and onions – wasabi and coconut aminos for dipping; 1/2 personal-size watermelon

Hydration: water, sleepy time tea

Supplements am: calcium d-glucarate, DIM, oil of oregano, Maxi-Hair, vitamin C, maca, ashwaghanda, and DHA

Supplements pm: Maxi-Hair, vitamin D, melatonin, B-12, probiotics, maca, ashwaghanda, and Natural Calm

Activity: none – day off!

Reflections: today S and I celebrated my birthday by buying 2 lbs of sushi-grade fish and eating all of it over dinner. This Whole30 experiment got started in some roundabout way by my intense desire to eat sushi. I missed sushi dearly – and I even think I began to crave it. Thankfully, S was not judgmental about it and decided to support my desire to stray away from my vegetarian ways. If I was going to eat sushi, why not try eating fish every day and see how I felt? Well, I have been feeling physically great, but I am still trying to adjust to my new identity as a non-vegetarian. In order to stick to the Whole30 plan, I researched alternatives to rice and found the “cauliflower rice” trick online. The sushi tasted fantastic, but the extra moisture in the cauliflower made the nori soggy. After I am done with this process, I will definitely consider making sushi with white rice as a treat. The coconut aminos were alright – they did the job for the time being, but they lacked the salty and strong taste of soy sauce (also, the aminos proved to be effervescent when I shook the bottle and the liquid exploded out of the cap). Again, next time I make sushi as an occasional treat I will have my beloved Bragg. If was great to be able to have such a delicious meal without compromising my plan.

Sleep: good. slept in until 6:30 am.

OVERALL: this was a fantastic day, and I am committed to making it to the end. S asked me “so, how many times have you cheated so far?” “None!” I replied. What is the point of “cheating” when you feel so good?

