Tags

Breakfast (9 am): tuna, 2 celery stalks, 1 small yam, 1 tbsp. almond butter and coconut flakes; 1 small cup of coffee

Lunch (noon): baby carrots, pile of steamed kale and broccoli leaves, can of salmon with pepper and Tapatio sauce, 1 apple with 1 tbsp. almond butter and coconut flakes

Afternoon snack (1 pm): handful of almonds (hungry!); (5 pm) handful of filberts, 2 dates, spoonful of coconut flakes, 1 dry fig

Dinner (8 pm): 2 massive Ahi tuna stakes cooked on the BBQ, big spinach and romaine salad with pumpkin seeds, carrots, bell peppers and olives – dressed with olive oil, vinegar, salt and pepper; 1 apple

Hydration: water, sleepy time tea

Supplements am: calcium d-glucarate, DIM, oil of oregano, Maxi-Hair, vitamin C, maca, ashwaghanda, and DHA

Supplements pm: Maxi-Hair, vitamin D, melatonin, B-12, probiotics, maca, ashwaghanda, and Natural Calm

Activity: 12 mile commute; am Elements at NorCal

Pre-workout meal: 2 cups of coffee (1/2 caf.), handful of filberts, 1 spoonful of coconut, 2 dates

Reflections: after teaching 5 Spinning classes in 4 days, I was worried about the state of my quads. I toyed with the idea of skipping on Friday’s Elements and taking Saturday’s instead. But then, I realized, I would have to miss our leisurely Saturday morning coffee date with S, so I pushed myself to get out the door on time for the 40 min. commute. I left the rumble roller in the middle of the living room the night before as a gentle reminder to roll my quads before leaving for the gym. I woke up hungry, but I limited myself to a snack, since too much food (especially protein) upsets my stomach before a workout. Again, I was surprised by how good I felt during class: I have not been able to do negative pull-ups in the right (sloow) way until today. As I was lowering myself from the bar I thought “woooa! You’re doing it!” I have also noticed being “less bloated” throughout the day and the amount of energy I have is insane. I am, however, slacking on my hydration. I think adding animal protein to my diet has left me a pit parched, and I don’t notice it until I see my urine’s color.

Sleep: good. slept in until 6:30 am.

OVERALL: I am only 5 days into this experiment and I feel renewed! Note to self: drink more water!!!

