Tags

Breakfast (6 am): 3 eggs scrambled with broccoli, zucchini, and leeks – cooked in coconut oil – topped with home-made salsa. 1 red apple with almond butter. 2 large cups of coffee (1/2 caf)

Snack (10 am): handful of almonds(10-15)

Lunch(noon): baby carrots, celery, steamed spinach, tuna and 1/3 of an avocado, 3 dates, 10 filberts

Afternoon snack (2:30 pm): 10 almonds

Dinner (5:30 pm): massive salad made with romaine, spinach, bell peppers, salmon, black olives, sunflower seeds, sweet potatoes and green onions (dressed with rice vinegar, salt, nutritional yeast and pepper). Munched on carrots as I cooked. 1/4 honeydew melon, 2 dates, handful of filberts, spoonful of coconut flakes for dessert.

Hydration: water, sleepy time tea

Supplements am: calcium d-glucarate, DIM, oil of oregano, Maxi-Hair, vitamin C, maca, ashwaghanda, and DHA

Supplements pm: Maxi-Hair, vitamin D, melatonin, B-12, probiotics, maca, ashwaghanda, and Natural Calm

Activity: 30 min. leisurely commute to and from work. 60 min Spinning class at 5 am. 60 min Spinning class at 5:30 pm.

Pre-workout meal am: none – fasted workout

Pre-workout meal pm: BCAA, water, a couple carrots

Mood: my legs are in serious pain from yesterday’s intense workouts. This morning I taught last night’s routine, but I made sure to keep my HR within the aerobic range – i.e., not LT or above LT intervals. I find it easier to “hold back” in my morning classes, because it takes me a long time to warm up so early in the morning. I attribute it to the fact that I get on the bike 40 minutes after waking up and my resting HR is below 50 bpm. … During lunch I noticed something unusual: celery tasted incredibly sweet! The afternoon workout was a bit challenging; my quads ached from yesterday’s workout quite a bit – despite foam rolling my legs before the workout. As soon as I got on the bike, I knew that I would not be able to push heavy gears, which turned out to be OK since the workout focused a lot of speed-work. With 4 other Spinning classes under my belt, I kept this workout aerobic and, to my surprise, it felt good! Dinner was much appreciated. I added a few “extras” for dessert, since I was starving. The conclusion is clear: I torch calories on days like these and I should fuel properly.

Sleep: Just like the day before, sleep was so-so. Working out in the evening does not settle well with me, but I have noticed increased energy throughout the day – so that might have something to do with it. 7.5 hours

OVERALL: despite the soreness, I am in good spirits and I keep telling myself: why didn’t I try this sooner. I feel fantastic!

